PDA

View Full Version : Special needs (aspergers), High School-advice requested

Elizabeth
05-27-2013, 03:50 PM
My son is now of high school age (14 1/2). I have been homeschooling him for 4 years now. We started out more formal, merged into eclectic and now border a more unschooling manner. One big issue, he has struggled with math this whole time and I haven't really pressed it. We have focused on practical math- budgeting, coupons, bank account, inventory and grocery shopping. He does great with creative writing (mostly fan fiction and only via keyboard as handwriting has been an issue). We are very interest driven in the various subjects. He has a great interest in science (mostly animal related) and history (various wars, ancient Rome and wherever Doctor Who episodes bring us). He also has a lot of interest in Art. He has friends-local and online (xbox and minecraft) and we periodically attend field trips with a local secular group. The big question I have right now as he sort enters 9th grade is the GED vs diploma issue. He does not fare well with some test conditions and I have been debating about using a program like Clonlara where he can also obtain a diploma. This is the path which my husband would prefer. I could do the homeschool transcript path and know some post secondary programs accept those. I am leaning toward the Clonlara route and will call them tomorrow for general information. I would love to get some feedback from anyone that has used Clonlara or other flexible programs as a means to progress towards a high school diploma. His Asperger's Syndrome really manifests with some quirks and an over reaction to things he gets frustrated with. This can include throwing things. My son has expressed interest in going to pub like school but he would have to start back in a more restricted environment initially (read: special needs school). He wasn't happy about that part. Thank you in advance for any suggestions.

dbmamaz
05-27-2013, 04:31 PM