PDA

View Full Version : The joys of being a homeschool mom who is getting a teaching degree.

schwartzkari
07-05-2010, 03:55 PM
I'm currently studying to finish my early childhood teaching degree, mainly for the purpose of opening my own daycare in a few years. I go to school online and this week we are suppose to discuss the school choice options available to parents. I started this class 3 weeks ago and so far there has been alot of "parent bashing" in the forums...basically my other classmates are blaming ALL parents for why the public school system often goes wrong. I held my tongue quite a bit the last 3 weeks and when I saw that we were going to discuss school choice options, I thought "oh great, here we go...I just know that homeschooling is going to get bashed!"

So I start reading the assigned chapters from my textbook...school choice options are listed: public school, charter school, magnet school, private school...and that is it. Homeschooling wasn't listed anywhere!

On the one hand, I am extremely relieved that homeschooling wasn't discussed anywhere in the text...on the other hand, I'm wondering why it wasn't listed as a school choice option?

The thought of discussing homeschooling with my fellow students scares me...mainly because one of my classmates insists that humans don't need the sun to survive and another claims that the world was created in the 17th century. lmao...I'm dealing with some interesting people in my class!

mommykicksbutt
07-05-2010, 04:28 PM