PDA

View Full Version : Anyone familiar with Math In Focus from greatsource.com?

ajsmami
06-19-2010, 12:23 PM
Hello everyone,
I am new to all this, but have been doing research for an entire year before deciding to dive in to the Homeschooling world with my 7 year old daughter for second grade starting this August. I was decided on going with Singapore Math, but read about Math in Focus from greatsource.com in the Rainbow Resource Center catalog. It's a singapore approach which I like and they give it great reviews. Does anyone have any experience with this program? Any information would be greatly appreciated. I am trying to get all of my curriculum set and books ordered as soon as possible as I'm due with Baby #2 in one month. I'm trying not to get too overwhelmed, but I do feel like I'm running out of time.
Thanks,
Ali

Snoopy
06-19-2010, 02:53 PM
Welcome to the group Ali and congratulations on both being a homeschooling newbie and on the impending birth of your new baby! Where are you located?

I'm sorry, I don't have any input on that particular math program. Maybe others will. I don't know if you saw, but we just had a thread about resources for 2nd graders (http://www.secularhomeschool.com/threads/776-What-did-your-2nd-grader-learn-this-year).

Good luck with everything and ask any and all questions you can think of, we're all very happy to help to the best of our abilities!

ajsmami
06-19-2010, 03:22 PM
Thanks Snoopy! I'm in Central Florida/Volusia County. Thank you for the welcome:) I should have asked about Singapore Math since it's one that is more known. I am so new at this....I hope everyone is patient on here:)
Ali.

Snoopy
06-19-2010, 03:41 PM
Thanks Snoopy! I'm in Central Florida/Volusia County. Thank you for the welcome:) I should have asked about Singapore Math since it's one that is more known. I am so new at this....I hope everyone is patient on here:)
Ali.