PDA

View Full Version : How did you teach your kids to read?

audleedoo
08-20-2012, 08:12 PM
Just kind of a general poll, out of curiosity :)

Stella M
08-20-2012, 08:28 PM
Dd14 taught herself :)

Dd13 - we did this weird kind of learning, which I later discovered is a technique for adult learners. We wrote books together about all sorts of things in her life and she learned the basics of reading from that, then just took off with the chapter books. Successful - 3 years between being a non-reader and reading LOTR, but time consuming.

Ds8 - Basic, boring phonics. Ordinary parent's guide to Reading. Easy, no thinking involved, effective.

bcnlvr
08-20-2012, 09:12 PM
Phonics. We used K12 PhonicsWorks.

Sherry
08-20-2012, 09:29 PM
Mine are largely self-taught. The oldest learned the letters and their sounds just by listening to us read. He also learned a number of words the same way. He watched LeapFrog Talking Words Factory a couple of times and just took off. I was worried that he was sight-reading so I tried using Phonics Pathways. He refused - he said that he already knew how to read. We did make it about 3/4 of the way through Reading Pathways and through book 6 of ETC by calling it spelling instead of phonics. He also played on Starfall.com.

The youngest sat in on his brother's lessons and played on Starfall.com. He has had no formal phonics lessons. His wanting to read the same books his brother is reading is causing turmoil in our house right now.

farrarwilliams
08-20-2012, 10:14 PM
My boys are almost 8 yo twins.