PDA

View Full Version : Help with unit on King Tut (middle school)

Mom2AandE
08-07-2012, 08:02 PM
This is going to be our very first year homeschooling my daughter who is at the 6th grade level. I am still learning the ropes on how to even find curriculum so I am a bit stumped on how to find a free/cheap stand alone unit on Ancient Egypt/King Tut. We have tickets to the King Tut exhibit at the Seattle Science Center and need to use them by the beginning of Dec. I want to do a learning unit before we go to the exhibit. I need help getting started. I am feeling a bit anxious/overwhelmed right now.

Stella M
08-07-2012, 08:21 PM
Well, what i would do is make the exhibition 'the' focus of the learning and do some pre and post visit activities.

Sometimes there are online education notes along with an exhibition ?

Failing that, go to the library ( if you have one ) and see what they have on Ancient egypt in general and King Tut in particular.
Read to your dd or require her to read.

Go to museum.

Have her write a 1 page narration on what she found interesting/knows about KT from her reading and the exhibition.

If she's crafty, find an online AE craft to do.

If she's not crafty, well...don't worry about it!

Seriously, a bit of reading, an exhibition, a bit of narration, an extra craft or other activity or two...I personally would find that sufficient for 6th grade.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/ancient/egyptians/ Has some stuff about KT on there plus general AE stuff, hth!

farrarwilliams
08-07-2012, 09:00 PM
Time to mummify a chicken! :D

More seriously (though I have mummified several chickens with middle schoolers... just saying...) whatever else you end up doing, please read David Macauley's Motel of the Mysteries and discuss it. This is an amazing parody book about the discovery of Tut's tomb which is very funny but also raises a lot of very serious questions about archaeology and the interpretations we have of past societies.

Stella M
08-07-2012, 09:52 PM