PDA

View Full Version : Things that make you go hmmmm

StartingOver
06-09-2010, 03:51 PM
I was informed today that I am not a homeschooler, because my son is only 3. He will be 4 the end of this month.

It doesn't matter that I have been teaching my children at home for 22 years. That my son has completed Pk 3 & Pk 4. That he is doing Kindergarten now.

I have been a homeschooling mom so long, and have 16 more years to go. LOL Maybe by then I will be ready to drop the title? Or maybe I will be a homeschooling grandma??

When did homeschooling only start at 5 and end at 18 ??

What has made you go hmmmmm lately ?

Sarbare0704
06-09-2010, 03:59 PM
I keep feeling like I am also about to get that response when I talk about Lucy homeschooling because she is only 4 also. So far no one has said anything, but maybe they are just dumb founded that I'm homeschooling so they have nothing more to say :p

hockeymom
06-09-2010, 07:05 PM
Okay...confession time. When my son was preschool age and even before, I would hear time and again about great we were at "homeschooling" him. I honestly didn't understand at the time how I could possibly be "homeschooling' him at such a young age; to me it was just PARENTING.

BUT...now that we have tested public school and have gotten a little experience with homeschooling-at-school-age, I am starting to realize what people meant at the time. Maybe I'm a little slow, but I didn't realize at the time that not everyone interacts with their kids the way that we did (and do), and the way that you clearly do with yours. That "homeschooling" isn't books and curriculum, but a way of life. It's in thinking back to those preschool days now that I realize that an interest-led life is natural to us, and that I become fully aware of what our lives had been missing in the short time he was in ps.

So maybe the people that are driving you crazy just don't quite understand what "homeschooling" really is all about. Can you cut us slow ones some slack? :)