PDA

View Full Version : What do you do about boredom?

Avalon
04-12-2012, 07:09 PM
I'm talking about grownup boredom here. I quit my job 10 years ago when my ds was born. I only planned to be home for a couple of years at the most. I've been homeschooling for 6 years now, and frankly, I'm a little bored. The kids don't need hands-on, one-on-one, nitty-gritty face-time all day long anymore, so it's not like just getting through the day is a challenge.

I spend a lot of time just taking them places: I drive them to rehearsal, to taekwondo, to piano, to a friend's house, etc. I wait for them at these places and chat with the other parents, but it's getting boring. We get the housework done together, I walk the dog, make supper, whatever, and it's all just so blah.

I feel busy enough with their schedule that I don't have huge blocks of time open to me so I could do something else, but driving them places and helping them with math isn't exactly a thrilling challenge, either.

My husband works at a challenging, rewarding career that he loves and wouldn't dream of quitting. Sometimes I feel guilty because he's working his butt off and I'm standing around at the playground or baking cookies at home. I do the majority of household maintenance just because it makes sense for me to do it, but I definitely don't find it rewarding.

I often think that if I could just have a job that would help so much, but I don't even know what kind of work I want to do. Frankly, I can't believe I'm whining about boredom at all. Am I the only one with this problem?

AmyButler
04-12-2012, 07:12 PM
I do genealogy--it keeps my mind functioning and can be challenging.

Stella M
04-12-2012, 07:47 PM
I think it's a transition thing; I know I went through something similar. The kids weren't small enough to to be needing my every minute but I was still bound to them.