PDA

View Full Version : How does a new homeschooler deal with younger siblings?

SherilynO
03-26-2012, 12:20 PM
Hi. My oldest son (L) is just finishing K in ps. I'm planning to hs him next year. I also have two younger sons (S turned 4 last week and C will turn 2 next week). L & S are quite tight with each other, and S considers himself L's equal in all ways. It's been tough to get him to understand why he can't also go to school already when he's fully convinced he can do anything L can do.

I can see that he will want to participate in school too. I'm not too panicked about trying to hs with all three around, but since I've never done this before, I'd prefer to get my feet wet with only the oldest one. At the same time, I don't want to exclude S. I'm not ordering any materials especially for him and I figure there will be lots of things he can participate in, or just learn by osmosis. But do I need to worry about him jumping into everything at first grade level? Are there certain subjects that I really need to lay some groundwork for him at his level beforehand? I'm thinking especially of phonics, I guess.

S has some speech issues that would have qualified him for free preschool this year. While his speech has come a LONG way in the past year, I plan to have him screened again in a couple weeks and I hope he still qualifies. I think he'd benefit from interaction with other kids, and would enjoy the activities, not to mention a more structured introduction to the alphabet, etc. Plus, that would give me a few hours each week that L and I could devote to certain subjects where having S around might be a distraction.

Any thoughts?

Avalon
03-26-2012, 02:57 PM
Personally, I think the hardest part will be figuring out what to do with the 2yo, not how to combine the older two.