PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone had trouble getting back into high"school" after homeschooling?

holycrap
01-26-2012, 03:31 PM
I have been homeschooling for a few years now, and my now freshman son is thinking about going to "real" school when we move back to the states.
I have read that it can be difficult to find public schools that will except homeschool curriculum.
Has anyone out there had to deal with this?
BTW we are headed to the DC area if that makes a difference.
Thanks for any input.

inmom
01-26-2012, 03:59 PM
If you are going into public schools and you are indeed a resident there, they must accept him.

Accepting any credit he may have already earned at the high school level is a different story. You will probably need to sit down with either a principal or guidance counselor to determine what he's already earned. Be prepared to have some sort of transcript ready, as it is something the school staff would be familiar with.

dbmamaz
01-26-2012, 04:14 PM
Yeah, i've heard that here in virginia it can be really hard for high schools to accept credits done as a homeschooler. In order to graduate, you have to have a certain number of credits in each subject, including a number of 'verified' credits, meaning you have to have passed the state standards test. But . . if you come in mid-year, the classes you finish mid-year count as full credits.

Oh, i mssed the 'coming back to the states' bit. Man, he really wants to go to high school in DC? Hopefully Farrar will come comment . . .

farrarwilliams
01-26-2012, 10:58 PM