PDA

View Full Version : Homeschooling with a newborn?

Mrs. Apple
01-13-2012, 03:15 PM
I'm new to homeschooling. I'm halfway through 2nd grade using various curricula with DS7 and OPGTR+fun stuff with DS 4. My husband and I share the homeschooling and we've had some challenges but I think we're in a decent routine now. We usually have lazy mornings and then "do school" for several hours in the afternoon until dinnertime.

We're expecting another boy in 3 months (yay!) and I have no idea what to expect as far as how this will affect our homeschooling. We plan to be done for the year (with math, grammar, writing, spelling) when the baby comes. Over the summer, we'll take it easy and do science and history only. (We don't do these formally now, just read and explore things as the interest pops up.)

I know every family is different, but I'm curious about others' experiences. How did adding a new baby affect your homeschooling?

Mum
01-13-2012, 03:31 PM
I started hsing a second grader with a newborn in the house. For me, the challenges came in waves. Sometimes things went wonderfully. Each time the baby hit a new phase in his development it would throw a wrench in our hs days.

For example, for a few weeks he was happy to lay on a blanket on the floor beside us while we worked together. Then he started rolling and suddenly leaving him beside us was no longer an option. He'd roll himself too far away and then fuss for me to fetch him back to us again. That sucked big, sweaty balls, dude. The constant distractions drove my schooler crazy.

The best advice I can give you is to try to keep things planned ahead of the day and be ready to roll with whatever changes his development demands. Feel free to message me to vent.

KristinK
01-13-2012, 03:55 PM
I took a good 6 months off after the last baby...but I was just overwhelmed in general and couldn't handle adding HSing back in too soon.

opheliag
01-13-2012, 05:50 PM