PDA

View Full Version : Tired of food conversations - what do you talk about with other hs Moms?

cupcakes0104
01-10-2012, 08:04 AM
I've been homeschooling for a couple of years. We fell in with a group (a free, unstructured group - Yay!) pretty quickly when we started and I was elated. But I find that when we are together with any of the moms from this group, the conversation is 90% about food. Organic vs. non-organic, types of flour, places to get raw milk, fresh cheese, etc. etc.

My husband laughs and says I am granola but I'm not this granola, crunchy, organic. We eat vegetarian frequently. I cook with fresh ingredients as often as possible. I cook/bake from scratch as often as I can but I'm not afraid to pull a box mix off of the shelf if it is the best option (unless it is something that will be shared by hs'ers - at this point, I wouldn't dare.) I don't make my own bread everyday or make my own yogurt - have no desire to.

It is funny, when we were in public school, I was known as "Betty Crocker" because I would make things for school parties or gatherings and the other Moms would strut in with plastic grocery store containers. Now, I'm immersed in the other extreme.

I find I can talk to other people about food (mainly sharing recipes) but it doesn't dominate the conversation. One on one, they will talk about other things but, together, it's food, food, food. If the conversation changes for a minute, eventually someone brings it back to food. If I don't naturally have something to add to the conversation, I'm not going to force it but the result is I sit quietly and try to listen intently - sometimes for what seems like hours. I think my ability to not look bored is fading.

I joined this forum just a few days ago and I'm feeling like maybe I have an outlet to talk about the process of educating my kids, the challenges, curriculum, project ideas, etc. (Thank you!)