PDA

View Full Version : I Promised to Read Aloud a Book That's Triggering My Own Personal Child Abuse Issues

Crabby Lioness
01-04-2012, 01:06 PM
I promised my daughters I would read aloud Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, as I think it's a bit dark for them to read by themselves. I got the book out this weekend, sat it down in wait -- and I haven't been able to sleep at night since then.

Now, I'm no beginner at this sort of thing. I'm 45 and while I was an abused child I worked through most of those issues ages ago. In the past I've been able to talk about really loaded issues with my children in a calm, neutral, and age-appropriate manner. I've also discussed the things I think Rowling does wrong and the things I think she does right with them previously. And Goblet is one of my favorite books, as opposed to Phoenix which I threw across the room halfway though and never finished because I wanted to give Harry a sound thrashing for being such an idiot.

But the way Rowling handles child abuse issues in the Harry Potter series is shocking. I'm not talking about the Dursleys, they're a standard-issue set of wretched step-parents that plague most plucky orphans at the beginning of stories. In fact they're so stereotypical they can almost be dismissed as comic, were it not for their level of low-grade but constant menace. But plucky storybook orphans typically get away from their Dursleys and end up somewhere better, you expect that. It's the much more dangerous, sophisticated, and downright evil child abuse at Hogwarts that bothers me so much.

Hogwarts, where most adults regard children as either nuisances or means to an end; and the few adults who don't are relatively powerless to protect them. More disturbing, Hogwarts where all the self-centered children are locked in the same chamber at night. My God, who was able to read that statement (in the second book) and still sleep at night afterwards?