PDA

View Full Version : Getting worried

Kachina
12-29-2011, 10:20 PM
I'm new to homeschooling, as in "haven't started yet," and am worried about a couple of things. I took my 15-year-old son out of public school just over a week ago and am planning to start (with my husband) teaching him at home in another week. My 18-year-old daughter is in public school still with no problems.

As I've read a lot of the forum postings, I'm hopeful that things will work out for us, but a couple of things are worrying me. First, a lot of people mention how much time it takes to homeschool, how it's exhausting, etc. My husband and I both work full time, and now I'm wondering if we've bit off more than we can chew. I'm off on Mondays, and my husband is off on Fridays (as well as the weekends), so there will be only three days we won't be available for teaching. I had envisioned having a relaxed and eclectic approach to my son's lessons since he can't sit for long periods of time with a book anyway, but now I wonder if we'll be shortchanging him by not being home more.

Another thing I worry about is leaving him essentially by himself for three days a week. He's been a latchkey kid for years already, so it's not unusual for him to be by himself, but it just seems more worrisome not having him supervised or in school on these days.

Those are just a couple of my guilt trips that have started. I'm sure there will be more. Any advice or encouragement would be appreciated.

dbmamaz
12-29-2011, 10:58 PM
remember a lot of the ppl who talk about how much work it is - are homeschooling multiple small children. doing ANYTHING with multiple small children is a lot of work.