PDA

View Full Version : Tips for dealing with young teens ?

Stella M
12-22-2011, 05:30 PM
The 'I have no initiative and am happy to sit in this chair for the next 72 hours' kind.
And the 'I am the centre of everyone's universe, surely ?' kind

How to deal with without losing one's mind ? I am not cut out for this stage. I do sweet and cuddly under 12's. I am not equipped to deal with teens.

Gabriela
12-22-2011, 05:44 PM
The 'I have no initiative and am happy to sit in this chair for the next 72 hours' kind.
And the 'I am the centre of everyone's universe, surely ?' kind

You mean there's another kind of teen?

I've been working with teen-agers for two decades and still haven't managed to figure out how to not want to hang myself.
They're miserable, hormonal, emotional, irrational, unappreciative and inconsiderate.
I think 17 is the average age it starts to change back to normal.
The only thing I've managed is to learn to not take it personally.

dbmamaz
12-22-2011, 09:33 PM
Everyone told me not to take my daughters stuff personally, but I was not able to. She was the bane of my existence from 11 to 17. Good luck.

deannajo
12-22-2011, 10:18 PM
I'm right there too. I've been through it before with my adult daughter, and I'm not sure I can do it again! 12yo dd is just rearing up. She suffers from both afflictions - the no initiative and the center of the universe kind. Also apparently no one understands her at all! And she has two younger sisters coming up behind her!!! ... I don't think I can survive it all!

lakshmi
12-22-2011, 11:04 PM
uhm...can't help ya, sorry. feelin ya though... i've got two cute and cuddly under 12's here. Still wanting to curl up into my lap. But both with very serious mean streaks, obviously from their father!!!, and I am concerned about it Share what you learn...

Stella M
12-23-2011, 01:52 AM
17!

I want to run far away.
I am going to need to take drugs to make it through.