PDA

View Full Version : Kid-Friendly Browsers

kristinabrooke
12-14-2011, 08:01 PM
Hi everyone. Just curious (I asked this on Facebook and would love to see your responses too).

Which is your favorite Kid-Safe Browser? Select one below or leave a comment telling us if you use another. Also let us know why you like the selected browser.

1. KidZui
2. Pikluk
3. Zoodles
4. Kido'z
5. Buddy Browser
6. Other (leave comment)

MrsLOLcat
12-14-2011, 08:56 PM
*shrug* My son uses Firefox on his netbook. My husband is an IT guy and set extremely strict DNS limits (I think that's right? I'm not a techie person). Anyway, DS can't even see ads for Facebook, let alone access the site... and once we were trying to look up videos for something for school, and we couldn't access one of the videos because *other* videos on the site *might* have been suspicious. I let him surf freely with the restriction that he's not allowed to download anything without permission.

I'll be brutally honest and say that I've never even heard of any of the ones you listed.

farrarwilliams
12-14-2011, 09:11 PM
I don't know much about the kid specific ones. My kids both just have Chrome on their computers. I made them a Google Site so they could access their links and I could update them and add things. We've talked about internet safety, but I don't worry too much. The worst thing that I feel like they could do would be to virus up their computers, which are almost dead anyway - that's why they're THEIR computers and not ours.

kristinabrooke
12-14-2011, 10:22 PM