PDA

View Full Version : Calling Unschoolers Please Help Me

Kim
11-23-2011, 02:21 PM
Okay, here's my dilemma -

The first year of homeschool (last year) I did the government curriculum. Partly because I am a teacher and like the curriculum, partly because I expected my daughter to return to school for grade two, and also because I get more funding this way.

But, here we are in the second year at home, and I resent telling my daughter what to do, when to do it and how to do it. It makes sense for a school system to have a curriculum, but I don't at all believe it's necessary at home.

My daughter actually likes most of what we do. And the structure helps me prove to the homeschool worker that we are actually accomplishing something.

But the problem for my daughter is that her time (at least a part of the day) is dictated by me which causes a lot of problems, and I'm always trying to get her to stop talking incessantly so her work doesn't take forever.

And for me it's difficult because I am so NOT a routine person. I feel soooooo bored with our life.

The idea of letting her totally pick what she wants to do in a day is so appealing. I think mostly it appeals because I could let go of this great checklist of things that have to be done this year. I feel so oppressed by this checklist that I feel I can't really enjoy the process or relax and just enjoy learning with my kids.

I'm not really worried that my kids won't learn anything. They keep busy all day long and as they get older, I'm confident that they will develop more sophisticated interests.

I think the problem is that instead of joining in with their learning, I'm forced into a teacher - student relationship which just doesn't work well all round.