PDA

View Full Version : Skipping College

Snoopy
05-18-2010, 12:23 PM
This isn't a secular homeschooling-related concern, specifically, yet I thought it would be interesting to see what you all think about it.

The NY Times had an article recently titled "Plan B: Skip College (http://www.nytimes.com/2010/05/16/weekinreview/16steinberg.html)", which I found interesting because I have been advocating that option to my kids for many years. While I think it's important to have an education, I'm skeptical of the "need" that many parents have to see their kids go to college, thereby either weighing themselves with a hefty debt load or having their kids saddle themselves with a hefty debt load.

My approach has been to tell the kids that 1) I will not fund their education past 12th grade. They are welcome to do whatever they want, but they are expected to fund it themselves, whether by saving for it, earning a/several scholarship(s), or taking loans. 2) Explaining to them the cost of college, not only the tuition, but the books, room and board, etc. 3) hopefully (I haven't practiced that part yet) having them do a cost analysis: what is my education going to cost me vs. how much am I expecting to earn in my career? I read a comment recently from someone who marveled at the amount of debt incurred by teachers, for example, only to go into a career where they can pretty much never aspire to pay off the debt in a decent amount of time.