PDA

View Full Version : My daughter doesn't know the pledge, and other reasons we are weird.

Resaj
11-05-2011, 12:05 AM
My daughter is six. She graduated kindergarten from a private Montessori school after attending for a year and a half. This is my first year homeschooling and we are having soooooo much fun.

I've told you that so I can tell you that my daughter is also incredibly shy and while she warms up to other kids quite quickly (five minutes) it can take take forever to never if you are an adult (forget about it if you are a doctor or dentist).

I am a brand new girl scout daisy leader and we have a very small troop of daisies and brownies. The other troop leader sent home getting to know you homework to fill out about the kids favorite things. I think a game would have been more fun but moving on... She asked each girl to stand up and talk about herself and most were able to do so. There were a few who were a little shy but their parents were there and together they got through it. Zara never volunteered of course, so she went last. I offered to help and she curled up in a ball in my lap, mumbled a few things and that was it. I didn't push more because this is girl scouts and not something that should be miserable.

But I was getting the look. You know the one, I bet. The one that says, well if this poor unsocialized child had only been sent to school, she wouldn't be like this now. See what she's done? And in a way, I guess it's true, I did create this, but totally with genetics, heck, the kid has been to school. Her teachers loved her. They were sad to see her go. She's not freaky, just really really shy.

But just to seal the deal on our homeschool awkwardness, my daughter does not know the pledge of allegiance. Whoops. And the other leader asked me if it was for religious reasons. Ummmmm, no. Just an oversight.