PDA

View Full Version : One of my kids wants to try public school!

Michelle Conaway
11-04-2011, 09:42 AM
Hi Everyone,

I have been homeschooling for four years. My youngest son, nine years old, has expressed a desire to try public school. He has friends who are in public school but he has never been in school. Although I do my best to get him with other kids who homeschool, he tells me he wants the experience of being in class with other kids every day.

My ten year old son went to public school for two years and is very happy with our homeschooling experience. He is very self motivated and seeks opportunities to learn a lot of times on his own. He is more of a "loner" and enjoys being and doing things by himself a lot.

Of course my nine year old is extremely social. I have tried everything to give him opportunities to be with other kids but it doesn't seem to be enough for him.

My question is are any of you homeschooling some of your kids while others go to public school? I live in Texas and the homeschooling laws are very relaxed. We don't have to submit any type of paperwork or testing. Can I let him try public school and then pull him out again if he doesn't like it?

If anyone has any experience with this I would so much appreciate hearing your viewpoint. I am not real excited about the thought of him going to school but I also respect his viewpoint and want to respect and honor his desire to try it.

Thanks in advance for your input.

Gabriela
11-04-2011, 02:52 PM
I'm sure others will tell you that it's great that you respect your son's wishes and to go for it. I try to honor my 9yo boy's desires, but I personally view public schooling as bad for a kid's health as letting him play video games all day, or eat chocolate all day, or handle poisonous snakes. But I'm pretty radical in my views on public education. So I guess it boils down to your beliefs.