PDA

View Full Version : The Interruptions are driving me crazy!

Gabriela
09-25-2011, 12:03 PM
We're constantly being interrupted.

Friends often stop in with a "Hey, gotta minute?"

I answer "I'm in the middle of a Science lesson with my son."

Which they somehow interpret as "Yes, please sit down and take 30 minutes of my time."

No one would walk into a regular school classroom and ask the teacher if she, or he, is busy.
Why is it so hard for the people around me to understand that I am a teacher too, and we have real classes,
and a schedule, and we're serious about it.

Aaaaaaaaaahhh!
Anybody have any suggestions?

Shoe
09-25-2011, 12:07 PM
I don't answer my phone or open my door. Of course, I don't have much of a social life either, and that's probably partly to blame.

Accidental Homeschooler
09-25-2011, 12:11 PM
I think you are going to have to find a way to tell them. They just don't get it. We don't have people stopping by but I did have to stop answering the phone. When I returned calls after checking voice mail I could say something like, "Oh, I don't answer the phone until we are done with lessons."

Beverly
09-25-2011, 12:41 PM
I might put up a sign like some people do for sleeping babies that asks others not to knock.

Also, when I was a single mom with both clients and friends who refused to understand that bedtime was a "sacred," non-interruptible time for me and my little kids I had a voice mail message that said I was unavailable between the hours of seven and nine every day. It worked really well. Even jerky, needy clients got the idea that little kids need undivided attention and that families have boundaries.

bcnlvr
09-25-2011, 01:15 PM
I don't answer my phone or open my door.

+1

During school hours: phone is off and door goes unanswered. If someone needs to get me (ie someone died), they know to text me a 911 message (I will check my phone a couple times to make sure the sky didn't fall whilst the phone was off).

bcn

dragonfly