PDA

View Full Version : Help? Curriculum isn't working for us.

Catharsis
09-14-2011, 08:30 PM
Hi,

This is my first year homeschooling. I looked at various curriculum's and I have sorta pieced-together a curriculum that I was semi-happy with but it wasn't "well-rounded". So, then I started getting the official curriculums and I feel more lost than ever! Can someone attempt to get me on track? Tell me I am being too much of a perfectionist? Something? I feel like I am not doing enough...

My son is in 2nd grade. I would like to do spelling, math, LA/grammer, art as an extra or part of our learning we already do. Science and Histry thrown in a few days a week. As I get more comfortable I can add more subjects but now I just need the basics.

I have:

(spelling)-Sequential spelling. We are doing ok with that.
(history)- The Story of the World. Volume 2. I think it's a bit advanced for him and I don't like the workbook it's too much. I haven't figured out a way of working this that I am comfortable with yet.

Then the problem... MBtP....7-9 y/o It takes forever!!! There is nothing for me to just "read" to him and do the activity. They give me like 2 blurbs of a sentance about the lesson and that's it. I don't want to have to stop and have him look it up on the internet. (I'll have to wrangle him back away from the computer and spend 5 minutes getting him refocused.)

Math I have various workbooks that I sorta match up and pick something out of. It's very tiring but it's going ok.

LA is another problem. I am piecing that together but this is my weak area and I don't know where to start. I'd like an all in one program. Except we have the spelling covered.

I don't like MBtP and would like to eliminate it after I find something better.
Can someone please help get me on the right track? I already spent $150 on MBtP thankfully I didn't buy the whole program and just bought one section.