PDA

View Full Version : Grading ??

Staysee34
07-18-2011, 02:46 PM
I'm very new to HSing and even though I've covered alot of ground this summer and feel pretty comfortable with everything, I'm unsure just how to assess their progress. I don't want my 2 ladies to feel pressured by grading everything they do but at the same time, I feel it's necessary on some level. My oldest has a current IEP and I'm sure that the school district not to mention the evaluator at the end of the year will want to see ink at the top of papers. They were quite unhappy with my decision to withdrawl. So, how do you do it? I need to find middle ground and I'm hoping to find some advice.

Eileen
07-18-2011, 02:50 PM
Can you just go through their stuff and revisit the things that they need work on? If you feel you need grades or something for the officials (I don't know what the PA laws are like), you can just keep that for your records and not discuss it with your kids at all. That way they won't feel pressured, and you'll know what they need to work on, and your butt will be covered with the evaluator.

Accidental Homeschooler
07-18-2011, 02:57 PM