PDA

View Full Version : Homeschooling when parent has chronic disorder/disease

PetVet
07-07-2011, 11:11 AM
Hello!

Newbie here (see my intro in that section) looking for suggestions for my 7yo DS to do as 'independent study' on the days when I am not feeling up to snuff.

On absolutely horrible days I have family and friends lined up who will take him for the day and if possible I would like something that they can do with him that needs little or no prep work. Problem: not all of them have reliable, high speed internet. If nothing curriculum based is suitable, I'm looking for suggestions as to things they can do with him that would still count as "school". I'm thinking outside play/local swimming pool (phys ed), baking (math/home ec), sewing/rug hooking (home ec/fine motor skills), etc. Any and all suggestions much appreciated!

On moderately bad days, something that he can do on his own with me available for 'checking in' would be fine. We currently have a BrainPop Jr subscription that he enjoys, I am signing up for the T4L trial today and am wondering about Discovery Steaming Plus. Any advice/opinions on these (and other) options also much appreciated!

Finally, every day I need a 'rest' - I have to close my eyes and rest my brain. However this has been required since he was a baby, so he is used to it and that is when I plan to have him do his DEAR (drop everything and read), journal writing, watch a movie, play lego, etc. I also have him enrolled in an afterschool program at our local rec centre for a couple of hours M-F so I can have some quiet time.

I'm hoping this will be okay for us... I worry about it though. I know that there are others here who have similar issues, so if anyone has any advice, encouragement, suggestions, etc. I would love to hear from you!

Thanks very much
:)

jess
07-07-2011, 03:26 PM