PDA

View Full Version : Your greatest fears when you started HSing

LovingMyChildren
07-05-2011, 11:58 AM
Hi All,
I'm curious about others' fears when they started homeschooling! I'm sure my fears are common but it'd be nice to know that others have had some of the same fears.

So, if you're willing - please share your greatest fear(s) about HSing when you were just starting. And, if that fear was realized or vanished into thin air!

My greatest fear is that I won't be able to keep up with my DD5's seemingly insatiable desire for more (knowledge/facts, crafts, time with me, etc). She's only 5 but my goodness does she want to learn! I'm just starting out so I'll have to wait a while to give you the update :)

Thanks.

naturegirl7
07-05-2011, 01:38 PM
DS is a sponge and takes a lot of initiative regarding learning. He is barely 6 now, but I seriously worry that I won't be able to keep up or challenge him. Recently he started telling me about wormholes and time travel - I was totally lost. :(
I used to be really smart, but I feel like preggo brain and momma brain haven't left much smarts in there. And to be learning about stuff with him that I didn't encounter until HS or college - it is overwhelming at times. I had no clue who Sargon was! I have no idea how wormholes work! He wants to learn Latin and Chinese and all I can speak is enough Spanish to ask for the bathroom and order off a menu....

My biggest fears were (and still are to a degree) not being able to keep up/challenge him. Not being smart enough. And the dreaded socialization issue - which we solved when we found a FANTASTIC HS group in addition to his extra classes. Some days I worry that our more unschooly approach will affect his ability to "buckle down and get it done" but then I think that he is so focused and driven on his own. I tend to second guess myself - even though I am seeing amazing results....

inmom
07-05-2011, 01:47 PM