PDA

View Full Version : Hi from Oregon :)

Such Lovely Freckles
04-22-2010, 12:04 AM
Well, I don't have a profile picture yet, and was going to wait until I found one to introduce myself, but what the heck, here it goes.

My name is Ute (say Ootah). I'm a German citizen, living in Portland, Oregon, and I homeschool my nine year old daughter and my seven year old son. We started our homeschooling journey 5 years ago, and it was probably the best decision I have ever made. I'm incredibly grateful to be living in a country, where homeschooling is not illegal.

When I don't run around with the kiddos, I'm a writer, a friend, an avid baker, and lately I carry the lovely title of Parent Community Coordinator for Foundation Beyond Belief. I help secular parents start groups all around the country, a very rewarding but also very demanding job. I'm lucky to be married to a guy, who is working from home and can watch the kids for me, when I'm particularly busy.

Oregon is a delightfully secular state, but in our community we do have people from all walks of life and from different faiths. I find this to be a positive thing, as it teaches my children to be tolerant toward others.

Oh... and my latest obsession? Knitting socks!! Any other knitters here?

Well, I guess, that's me in a nutshell. Looking forward to meeting you all.

Ute
http://humanistathome.blogspot.com

Snoopy
04-22-2010, 12:46 AM
Welcome to the group! I went to college here in the States with a foreign exchange German student named Ute. Is that a pretty common German name?

Such Lovely Freckles
04-22-2010, 12:50 AM
How funny. Actually it's not very common at all... just a really old name. So everyone knows it, but nobody really likes it. :)

Firefly_Mom
04-22-2010, 03:04 AM
Oregon is a delightfully secular state, but in our community we do have people from all walks of life and from different faiths. I find this to be a positive thing, as it teaches my children to be tolerant toward others.