PDA

View Full Version : Husband almost onboard!!

jessica14
04-20-2011, 08:14 AM
I'm a newbie, so forgive me if I ask a million questions.

I talked to my husband last night, showing him all the reasons, research and plans for curriculum I had put together to start HS in September. He is almost there, but he has some concerns.
1. The biggest one is the S-word (of course). Daughter is a social butterfly and he's worried if she can't interact with lots of kids everyday. I have some activities in place but I understand his concern.
2. He's feels that they will have no autonomy to make their own decisions away from us if they are with me all of the time. I think that there is more opportunity for decision making, but he feels they need to be away from us for a significant time.
3. The last is what if it doesn't work and there is just too much togetherness and I implode somewhere mid year. I told him that we will need to work it out. My son has some behavior problem that stem from frustration at school (at least that's some of the issue). He throws tantrums when asked to do HW. I actually think that this will eliminate a lot of the issues. He's concerned it will just be worse. I said that it could at the beginning, but it would work out.

I'm commited to this for a year. I will be probably be teaching eclectically-more formal and structured in the mornings, more real life experiences at other times, plus asking them what they want to learn and working with that as well.

Thanks for any help! I can't beleive this might actually be a "go" and we will be done with traditional school in just a couple of months!

JinxieFox
04-20-2011, 08:41 AM