PDA

View Full Version : Lurking in Texas...now what?

Museling
04-01-2010, 04:29 PM
Hello ladies and gents, I've been lurking on here for a bit (okay, honestly less than 24 hours) but got up the guts to introduce myself.

My name is Denise, and mom to a precocious 6 year old red headed little boy, Logan, and wife to a wonderful man, Mike and I'm just a culinary student who just wants to find one more way to incorporate butter into my diet despite how much I don't need it.

Right now we are two months away from completing what has to be a school year worthy of National Lampoon's Griswold Family Vacation. The main highlights include being screamed at for how horrible my son is on the fourth day of school, witnessing a student punch his teacher and being reported to the Criminal District Attorney for truancy because the attendant clerk forgot to input the note that he was under his doctor's care for 3 days that excused his absences.

So, now we are trying to learn and educate ourselves on other options available to us, which is between the new school that the district built that he would be attending for first grade or taking a step outside the box and giving homeschooling a try. Right now, our biggest pro for home school is not having to deal with 'the system' that seems like it is actively trying to fail us and our biggest pro for public school is that our son, despite these issues, does enjoy the time he spends at school and has been getting a satisfactory education. Cons for home: can we do this and benefit our son, con for public: are we going to have to go to war every year, every day, to make sure that he gets what he needs from public school (and is it worth our family's sanity?).

Right now, I feel like we're on the fence, leaning to homeschooling and I know that homeschooling is right for some parents, right for some kids and wrong for others and I'm looking forward to hopefully learning so that we can do the best for him.