PDA

View Full Version : HSAP and/or Dual Enrollment

Lisa85
01-22-2011, 03:42 PM
This is my first year homeschooling and my 5 yo dd will be Kindergarten age this fall so I'm considering all my options. Does anyone have any experience with either Home School Assistance Programs or Dual Enrollment?

BTW - I am in Iowa

Teri
01-23-2011, 12:23 AM
You might want to mention where you are located. The only dual enrollment we have in Texas is for high school/college classes and I have never heard of home school assistance programs.

Lisa85
01-23-2011, 11:07 AM
Thanks Teri. I'm new to this (obviously;)) so I'm still learning what's normal nationally and what is just locally.

Here Dual enrollment is K-12. Usually children with special needs that are homeschooled also dual enroll so they can receive services like speech therapy, occupational therapy, etc. Then there are some students who dual enroll for extra curriculars like sports or for art, music, ESL, etc. Districts here have to allow you the option to dual enroll. The main benefit is that if parents choose to do a placement test (one way to fulfill HS requirements with the state in Iowa) at the end of the year, the cost is free. Otherwise I've heard they can be quite costly.

HSAP - it is optional for the school districts her to offer, but I believe ours does. HS families have to have a Supervising Teacher if they chose not to do yearly placement tests. HSAP's vary widely on the services offered from what I hear, but I believe their main goal is to provide a supervising teacher who meets with the student throughout the year to make sure adequate progress is being made.

Teri
01-23-2011, 11:14 AM
Gotcha. We don't call that dual enrollment. It varies in Texas what you can receive through special ed if you are a homeschooler. Our district told me that the only thing available is speech therapy (which shouldn't be correct under the law, but it would have involved a battle.)