PDA

View Full Version : Considering Homeschooling...Advice Please

DancingShamrock
10-31-2016, 11:31 AM
Hi Everyone -
I'm new to posting in this group, but I've been reading it for quite a long time. I have been considering homeschooling for several years now, but have not because we usually find a situation that eventually works for DS (13).

DS has dyslexia and likely also has dysgraphia and dyscalculia. From 5th-7th he attended a program that was specifically for children with learning disabilities. It worked well for him, but it only goes through the 8th grade. Even though it worked well for him, he didn't like it much, but we kept him there because we saw progress. We decided to send him to a different school for 8th grade because we felt he needed a transition year prior to starting high school. Our intention was to keep him at the new school through high school.

We are about 2.5 months in to the new school and it has been a very rough transition. I do not feel that he is doing well. While he likes his new school, I do not feel like they are able to spend enough time with him one-on-one to ensure he is really learning concepts. This is especially true for math. I feel like we are spending hours at home anyway reteaching the concepts he has not learned well enough during the day. DS is also not accepting of help from his teachers so that is another obstacle we are encountering.

It is tiring for him and it is tiring for me. I feel like we would be better off spending quality time learning the topics rather than me trying to squeeze in another 2 hours of studying every night. I feel that at the rate we are going I might as well be homeschooling him anyway because I am the one who is finding he worksheets he needs to do in order to learn the concepts. The curriculum they are using just isn't doing it for him.