PDA

View Full Version : Follow up: Robot security warning



Topsy
09-20-2016, 10:54 AM
Hi all. Tech support has been tweaking our security settings. If you are still getting the "I'm not a robot" confirmation requirement when trying to participate on the site, could you follow up here and let us know? THANK YOU!

NOTE: if the robot text is keeping you from successfully posting in the forum, please email us directly at [email protected]

IEF
09-20-2016, 11:49 AM
Thanks, Topsy. So far so good!

IEF
09-20-2016, 09:43 PM
Woopsy daisy! I spoke too soon.

Topsy
09-21-2016, 08:55 AM
Woopsy daisy! I spoke too soon.

You got the warning when posting there? Thanks!

IEF
09-21-2016, 11:30 AM
The post did not get eaten this time. It did eventually wind up on the group discussion after identifying the street signs and pasting the code into the box, so that's an improvement anyway.

:)

Topsy
09-22-2016, 08:25 AM
Thanks so much for the follow-up!

inmom
09-22-2016, 09:59 AM
Got the robot warning while trying to edit my signature using my kindle.

Topsy
09-25-2016, 07:49 AM
Got the robot warning while trying to edit my signature using my kindle.

Thanks, Carol.

inmom
09-29-2016, 09:14 AM
Just got the robot warning again while starting a new thread in the groups.

Topsy
09-29-2016, 09:39 AM
Just got the robot warning again while starting a new thread in the groups.

Thanks for reporting, Carol! Pushing through to tech support right now.

Riceball_Mommy
09-29-2016, 11:44 AM
Robot warning ate my reference photo link thread in the links section.

TFZ
09-29-2016, 11:55 PM
Got it several times in a row when I went to edit my signature today. The robot warning froze it up when I tried to preview it. The next time I just updated it, checked the box, and it went okay. Then the third time I checked the box and it asked me to mark all the pictures that were train stations. Lol I had to get my glasses out. The last time just checking the box worked. I'm back on Chrome. I'm sure that's why. Only robots use Chrome.

Topsy
09-30-2016, 08:39 AM
ARGH!! Just when I think we've got this one battled. :( Thanks SO much for taking the time to report, SHS'ers. The more you report the better the chance of us getting this fixed once and for all.

IEF
09-30-2016, 12:05 PM
I just got a robot warning while editing my signature to add the line "I am not a robot".

Sorry, Topsy, I can't stop laughing....

TFZ
09-30-2016, 12:49 PM
Hahahahaha IEF that made me snort right out loud. Thank you for the laugh.

Topsy
09-30-2016, 02:26 PM
I just got a robot warning while editing my signature to add the line "I am not a robot".

Sorry, Topsy, I can't stop laughing....

I'm sure I'll find this funnier when I'm not battling robots. LOL

Katrah
10-01-2016, 09:44 AM
Haven't been very active here for a couple days, but I just got one as I was updating my signature.

Topsy
10-02-2016, 02:17 PM
Haven't been very active here for a couple days, but I just got one as I was updating my signature.

Thanks, Katrah. May follow up by PM with you.

inmom
10-03-2016, 11:26 AM
Topsy, just got another robot warning when changing my sig.

Topsy
10-04-2016, 08:27 AM
Topsy, just got another robot warning when changing my sig.

Carol, I'm thinking it may be that you have a dynamic IP address. What that means is that your internet server changes your IP on a regular basis, so even if we whitelist one of your IP addresses, there likely won't be a way to whitelist them all. :/ It seems though our security software is particularly picky about signature changes for some reason. If you push on through the robot warning and still can't get your signature changed, let me know and I'll change it for you from the back end.

inmom
10-04-2016, 09:10 AM
Thanks. I was able to change it, so it's more of a slight nuisance than anything else.