PDA

View Full Version : Feedback Needed on Subject-Specific Curriculum

Topsy
11-24-2010, 04:24 PM
I have been working for the last several months preparing a section for our resource page about subject-specific secular curriculum. I'm getting close to being finished...I may even have it up in the next couple of weeks (fingers-crossed). I had no idea it would take me this long, but I really have had to do a LOT of research to make sure things that SAID they were secular really were secular, and all that jazz.

ANYWAY....
The sections I have so far are the basics:

Math
Science
History/Social Studies
Language Arts

What I need now is some input on any other sections of curriculum you would like to see included. Possibilities could include:

Art & Music
Foreign Language
Physical Education
Others??

Obviously, I can't work on this project until 2012, but I really do want to include the areas that are most helpful. Any feedback would be appreciated!! :D

Teri
11-24-2010, 07:09 PM
I have a music history one to recommend. I met Professor Carol last year when I was doing homeschool conferences for MBTP.
She is a professor at SMU in Dallas and decided that she wanted to reach out to the homeschool community. The program is incredibly well done and she traveled all over the world for the video clips. It is really amazing. Recommended for junior high and up.
http://discoveringmusic.net/

Busygoddess
11-24-2010, 07:24 PM
Art & Music, Foreign Language, Home Ec/Life Skills, Logic - or maybe 'Electives' and all of these could be listed in that. Also, a section for multi-subject materials might be helpful to some.

Stella M
11-25-2010, 02:37 AM
9 Note Recorder Method by Penny Gardiner - she's a CM writer and possibly religious - the book isn't and its absolutely fantastic!
Artistic Pursuits - really, really liking these, esp for high school.
Minumus Latin - fantastic latin program for 8-12yrs, from Cambridge University Press I think.
Cambridge Latin.