PDA

View Full Version : waffling on how to approach homeschool with SPD/Aspergers son

nautile
06-08-2015, 11:38 AM
I've been homeschooling my older daughter for two years now, and it has gone very well. My son is two years younger than her and will be starting kindergarten in the fall. Way back when I started kindergarten with my daughter, I figured I would repeat the same curricula with the boy, but now I see they are two very different people that learn very differently.

I know kindergarten should be more play than work, and that is what I did with my daughter. The bit of school we worked on was handwriting (HWOT), math (Miquon), and reading (OPGTR, though that is another story).

My son has sensory issues, probably Aspergers (he's on a waiting list), and some fine motor skill issues. He's been seeing an OT for the last six months for the fine motor stuff. It's helping, but it's a slow go. He cannot write his name or other letters or numbers.

Mentally, he is quite intelligent. He knows his letters and what they say, he can count, do simple addition and subtraction, and is a great memorizer. I want to work on his strengths but don't want his weaknesses, mainly writing, to inhibit him.

I plan on starting HWOT with him, but at the very first pre-k level. I have loved Miquon Math and I know he will do well with the manipulatives, but writing on those worksheets is going to be beyond him. Is it okay if he figures out the answer but I write it on the paper? I don't want absolutely everything to end up being a difficult writing task for him.

Are there other curricula that is out there that he would benefit from? What else should I consider?

Elly
06-08-2015, 12:07 PM