PDA

View Full Version : Does this day look alright for grade 3?

AngMo
03-22-2015, 05:17 AM
I'm terribly worried that I've missed something important. This schedule is for a 9-year-old boy, grade 3, who has mild brain damage and is about to be pulled from public school. The goal, at this stage, is for him to eventually go back to public school, so we need to try to maintain/develop the skills he'll need there before anything else. Each day will only be about 2 hours long. I know that he'll make progress with this, since it's similar to what we're already doing, but the question is, is it enough? And are there any gaping holes I've not noticed?

Cognition exercises (60 minutes)
I've been doing these particular exercises with him for 3 months now, and they have worked well (at first, he could only speak in single words, but now can use short sentences, describe feelings, tell me about his day, etc.) so I am not giving this hour up for anything.

Maths (20 minutes)
2 worksheets (both A5) of basic maths facts and a few simple word problems. He does these against a 3-minute sand timer, so he finishes both in a little over 6 minutes. I want to gradually make these worksheets more and more similar to school materials, and eventually switch to using school-type things entirely.
1-2 revisions of maths facts with flash cards. He's still on addition at the moment. He has to get through the whole lot of cards before the sand timer runs out. I've been adding in more cards as he starts recognising maths facts in worksheets (writing answers from memory instead of actively calculating it, which usually happens after he's seen it enough times). Once his addition is stable enough, I want to work up to doing another bunch with subtraction, and so on with multiplication and division.