PDA

View Full Version : Preschool/Pre-K Curriculum

zelli21
09-16-2010, 01:14 AM
Hi all, newbie here looking for advice for a curriculum for preschool. My son is nearly 14 months and I'm looking for preschool materials that are appropriate for now as well as when he gets older. While I'm not sure when the appropriate age to start, I figure I need to start something now to put him on the right path rather than allowing him to watch TV all day or destroy my house (he's well on his way now; Iím not sure how much more my furniture can handle:eek:) once he turns 2. Plus as there is so much out there to look at I figure it is going to take me at least a year to pick one to use when the time is right.

I haven't found anything that appears to be geared for 18 mos to 2 yrs and 2 yrs to 3 yrs. Suggestions?:confused:

For when he gets a bit older I found Sing, Spell, Read and Write (http://www.pearsonschool.com/index.cfm?locator=PSZ16c&filter_161=&filter_422=&filter_423=6733&filter_424=&filter_281=&filter_425=&programFilterTypeList=161%2C422%2C423%2C424%2C281% 2C425&PMDbSiteid=2781&PMDbSolutionid=6724&PMDbSubSolutionid=&PMDbCategoryid=1662&&PMDbProgramID=24483) (SSRW) Preschool for homeschoolers. Has anyone used it? Is it any good? Is there something better?

I really just need some direction. I donít want to wait until heís 4 to discover I canít do it and set him to fail:(. Well that might be a little dramatic but really if I canít do it, I want to get him enrolled in preschool sooner than later so he doesnít lose that head start.

Thanks.

Shoe
09-16-2010, 07:57 AM