PDA

View Full Version : Information on Homeschooling

tenuta92
12-03-2014, 02:38 PM
Hello,

I'm new to the idea of homeschooling. I have a 9 year old son (4th grader in Oklahoma), who is a little slow on learning, but not noticeable to his teacher. She doesn't assist him with his work, but insists he is doing fine. If he is doing fine then why did he have a "F" on last nine weeks report card and currently an "F" on his second nine weeks progress report.

He has some medical issues and the kids and teacher pick on him, thus the principal nor superintendent will address the issue.

So I'm looking into the option of homeschooling, but not sure where to start and how to get the curriculum at free to little cost.

Please any and all ideas and help will be greatly appreciated.

alexsmom
12-04-2014, 12:19 AM
Welcome!
Geesh sure sounds like your sons class and environment isnt helping him any!
A recurring theme of advice for new and unexpected homeschoolers is *dont rush to buy expensive all in box curriculums!* If your kid fit in a box, he could stay in school.
There are tons of free, or nearly free educational resources especially for elementary grades. Luckily for us parents, it doesnt take advanced degrees to teach our kids arithmetic, basic science, and how to read and write.
Look around on the forum reviews, read recent threads from other *emergency homeschoolers* in the past couple months, ask questions and opinions here.
You'll see homeschooling takes a surprisingly little amount of time, that there are all sorts of added perks for the whole family, and many people homeschool on the frugal. ;)

MNDad
12-04-2014, 06:20 AM
Two of the best predictors of success in school is the degree to which the child enjoys learning and when there's a good match between skills and challenges. It certainly sounds like your son could get caught up in a vicious cycle of school performance and low self-regard in this sort classroom environment.