PDA

View Full Version : Hi from Detroit, Michigan!!!

Gmom
08-28-2010, 06:35 AM
Hi! This will be my first year homeschooling my 1st, 3rd and 5th grader. I'm originally from Detroit but I moved to Ann Arbor when I graduated from high school to attend college. Now I'm back in my native city with my three kids and husband in tow. I'm having the most difficult time adjusting but things are getting better everyday. For this academic year I'm using the Michigan Virtual Academy. I'm kind of nervous about homeschooling through a Charter but over the summer I've pieced together my own curriculum just in case I find that it isn't a good fit for us. I still have not found a support group or co-op in Detroit, I was starting to think I was going to have to go it alone. I'm so glad I found this site. :D

Topsy
08-28-2010, 08:07 AM
Welcome to the site, Gmom!! It's ironic that you say you are from Detroit, because I was JUST looking for a secular homeschooling parent from Detroit a week or so ago to do an interview for the Detroit Free Press. I never could get any takers. ;) Here is the article (http://www.freep.com/article/20100823/NEWS06/8230327/More-resources-and-support-help-metro-homeschoolers-go-mainstream) though, in case you hadn't seen it. I don't know of any groups right in Detroit, but I am aware of one MeetUp that is just outside it. The link: FUiH (http://www.meetup.com/Families-United-in-Homeschooling/). I hope you will either be able to locate a secular/inclusive support group, or maybe even create your own. :) Glad you are here!!

Shoe
08-28-2010, 10:32 AM
Welcome to the site, Gmom! This is a great place for support and information, so hopefully you'll feel at home and get as much from it as I do.

Cheers.

SherryZoned
08-28-2010, 10:59 AM
Welcome!

This is my first year also. I am in Arlington, TX but spent 14 years in Michigan. I have lived in Livonia, Plymouth, Taylor and I still have a sister in Redford.

pandahoneybee
08-29-2010, 12:07 PM