PDA

View Full Version : Need Help with finding good language arts curriculum

Journey of Life mama
08-25-2010, 05:26 PM
So, we are in the second year of homeschool. My daughter is 10 and would be in the 5th grade. She is pretty advanced in reading and writing--or so the public schools she attended have said--being a teacher myself and a pretty hard critic, I think she is average or maybe a bit above. Anyhow, we are doing grammarlogues and I am also doing some of ellen mchenry's basement workshop english study. I have looked at Moving Beyond the Page literature study units--I think we would pick and choose from the 10-12 concept. I have also been looking at Learning through Literature the tan book. Does anyone have any experience with either of these or have any other recommendations for language arts? I don't want anything religious based. She is already writing in a Journal and working on her own short stories on the computer but I feel like maybe she needs to do something literature based so I can easily see her comprehension and get her writing in different styles etc.. ahh..please help, I feel like I just keep researching and researching on the computer and can't get satisfied--am also thinking of doing the Great Editing Adventure series--any thoughts on any of this long rambling post would be greatly appreciated! :) Oh, and she reads a lot on her own already. And last but not least, we want to do spanish and are thinking of Rosetta Stone but it is so expensive at 600.00--does anyone have experience with it? Maybe we should just get the first level--but it's still expensive:(

Teri
08-25-2010, 06:07 PM
We are doing the 10-12 MBTP level this year, but I have used it every year.
The literature units are very comprehensive. They involve reading one book for every unit (12 for a full year's curriculum). It includes language arts (how to write a paragraph, multi-paragraph paper and a research paper, grammar, etc.)