PDA

View Full Version : Homeschooling secular 9th grader

ventriloquist
04-01-2014, 08:23 AM
I have been homeschooling my 13 year old daughter for the past two years - 7th and 8th grade. I am now considering whether to put her back in school for high school or not, or a third option is an alternative public HS in our community. We have been more unschooling than homeschooling, but as a single father with a flexible schedule (I'm a ventriloquist) I feel that I still have not been able to spend sufficient time with my daughter. I would appreciate any input from secular homeschoolers of high schoolers about curriculum or anything else related to lifestyle of a high schooler at home, to help me in my decision. Thanks!

Teri
04-01-2014, 10:11 AM
What does your daughter want to do?

dbmamaz
04-01-2014, 10:14 AM
I'm afraid we dont have a very typical homeschool high schooler schedule - in large part, I think, because we are not very social. What i hear is a good portion of highschoolers are either in a coop or very active in extra-curricular passions, such as drama or sports, or they are very motivated towards college. But we just sit at home and do organized academics and not much else.

I think it is time to figure out what your daughter wants from her future and plan together what the best way is to get there. If she is self-motivated or school averse, being home might be best. Have you guys read the teenage liberation handbook?

crunchymum
04-01-2014, 10:49 AM
Hi and welcome to the boards.

I have a son in gr 10 officially although he's all over the map in terms of the level of work he does, and 3 youngers who will probably stay home for high school.