PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Western Australia

prolelicious
08-13-2010, 06:00 AM
Hi everyone. I thought I'd make a proper introduction instead of a tag on someone else's post. I'm Dannye (sounds like Danny). I've been homeschooling my son (year 2) for two years now. We started out in Montessori and it didn't work out due to a variety of issues. I had planned to homeschool from the start, but I became a single mum when my son was 18 months old and thought I could not manage it. We're managing it now!

I grew up in California and lived in Hawai'i and Oregon prior to moving to Australia close to nine years ago. I still miss home but have not been back in all of that time. I love living here, most especially because it is easier to be a sole parent and homeschool than I think it would be for single parents in the states.

We have a secular approach to all of our homeschooling and find the lack of secular materials and others to chat with to be quite frustrating. I have bitten my tongue more than once at social events. I have some spiritual leanings and am more agnostic than anything, but my son is a devout atheist at this point as he's quite scientifically oriented. :)

It is great to be here. I have passed along the resource to many other Western Australians. Thanks for making this possible!

Topsy
08-13-2010, 07:43 AM
So great to have you here prolelicious!! Sounds like you have been on quite a journey! I'm thrilled to hear that you have been able to make homeschooling as a single parent successful for you and your son. That will be quite an encouragement for other single moms to hear. In fact, I'd love it if you would write a little about your experience single-parent homeschooling in Australia. It would make for a helpful article on the site, I think!! I hope you enjoy hanging out with us and sharing and receiving encouragement. Look forward to seeing you around the site... :)

prolelicious
08-13-2010, 07:55 AM