PDA

View Full Version : Hi from Michigan's U.P.

Yooper
08-11-2010, 09:26 AM
I just found this board and have enjoyed checking it out. I have a 7 yo dd that has never been to school. We started out with an unschooling approach but have recently switched gears to what may become a more classical approach.....I am still researching, which is why I am here. My dd is a huge reader and has expressed a desire to try out a more structured homeschool. I am a little nervous and overwhelmed by curriculum choices as I have not up until now done any research. There is SO MUCH! So, I will be asking a lot of questions in the very near future:)

Dd is an only child and her biggest loves are violin and gymnastics. I am home most of the time. I work part-time as an adjunct instructor at the local university. We live in a great state for homeschooling and have enjoyed every second so far! We do not have much of a local homeschooling community, however. There is a large homeschool group here, but it is very religiously oriented and we do not feel comfortable participating in it:( Luckily dd does have a handful of homeschooled friends that we do feel comfortable with and many schooled friends. My dh travels a lot for work and we tag along whenever we can. We also spend most of the summer camping and going to music festivals.

I am looking forward to participating here!

Yooper

Shoe
08-11-2010, 11:34 AM
I just found this board and have enjoyed checking it out... We're glad you found us! This is a great place to be.

I am a little nervous and overwhelmed by curriculum choices as I have not up until now done any research. There is SO MUCH! So, I will be asking a lot of questions in the very near future:)That's how I've felt as a new homeschooler. Ask your questions-there are a lot of friendly people with a lot of good advice and experience to answer them, in my experience.

I am looking forward to participating here!

Yooper I look forward to getting to know you better.

Cheers.