PDA

View Full Version : Boy Scout Popcorn Sales? Can my info be right? Opinions please...

kadylaha
09-21-2013, 12:55 PM
Okay, this is my first year as a "Cub Scout Mama" and I am trying to be nice and fit in. The folks who run our Pack are very nice, kindly grandparents; I couldn't ask for better folks in charge. The leader lady is handicapped, and has frequent surgeries, but doesn't let that stop her from taking the kids on hikes, to water fights, etc. She is a wonderful woman.

However, we are starting the scouts' annual fundraiser, Popcorn Sales. When the leader lady asked me if I'd help the kids "sell popcorn", I guess my mind was in a time warp. I was picturing them buying the needed materials (unpopped corn, salt, cheese powder, ziploc baggies), making the stuff and packing it themselves, and selling it door to door for a dollar or two a bag. That's what I thought of, because I'm a crafter; I make and sell things all the time for my jewelry business. The idea excited me, because it would teach them how to make money by making something from scratch; a valuable lesson for young boys. I said it was a wonderful idea and I couldn't wait to be involved.

Alas, times have changed. The "popcorn sales" were not a homey lesson in responsibility at all. Instead, I sort of think the boys are being made into... uh... corporate stooges. The word "exploitation" comes to mind.

First of all, the boys don't make the popcorn; it comes from a corporate distributor called Trails End. Okay, yes, I was a Girl Scout and I knew they didn't make their cookies, so my surprise there was only momentary. But... well, I attended a planning meeting and took notes, and these are the facts told to me, at least by the head Pack leaders from my area.