PDA

View Full Version : Absolute Beginners Guide to Homeschooling High School

Topsy
09-16-2013, 07:52 AM
We created this guide over at LetsHomeschoolHighschool.com and I wanted to share it here in case you, or anybody you know, is in the beginning stages of homeschooling high school:

Absolute Beginner's Guide to Homeschooling High School (http://letshomeschoolhighschool.com/blog/2013/02/24/absolute-beginners-guide-homeschooling-high-school/)

Marmalade
09-16-2013, 05:07 PM
Oh my god-Yay!

thank you-I will be lost in this for a while.

Hjørdis
09-23-2013, 11:48 PM
This is an excellent source of information. I have a question: We're temporarily living in MA. We are from MI and still have a home there. I've decided to homeschool my soon to be 18 year old son. According to his credits, he's a sophomore. Massachusetts has to right to oversee my curriculum. I have no problem with that. However, schooling is only compulsory til the age of 16. Do I have to adhere to the MA rules, or can I invest in a MI curriculum and get a diploma through MI rules?

dbmamaz
09-24-2013, 09:21 PM
Ok, homeschoolers dont get state issued diplomas. If you want to sign up for their virtual school, if they have one, you can get a diploma from them. But virtual school means your son is still a public school student, working at home. He would have to take the state standards tests, and he would get a state diploma . As opposed to homeschoolers who buy curriculum from curriculum providers and their kids are NOT registered as public school students.

Not that you arent welcome to get support here - there is a lot of common issues for people using virtual academies and people homeschooling.

Cynthia Williford
09-25-2013, 12:54 AM