PDA

View Full Version : Japanese and Calligraphy for 1st grade?

schwartzkari
07-26-2010, 07:50 PM
One of the things I love about homeschooling is allowing our lessons to be interest-led by my daughter. She told me this evening that she would like to learn Japanese and also try to learn calligraphy. She's doing 1st grade work right now, so if anyone could point me in the right direction of some age appropriate Japanese programs and/or calligraphy for kids, let me know. :)

Thanks!

farrarwilliams
07-26-2010, 08:14 PM
I have some very small experience with Chinese calligraphy, so don't have any Japanese recs for you, but if she's interested in the calligraphy, I would start by getting a few brush pens for her. They're easier to use than actual ink and brush sets and fine for practice or a 6 yo goofing around and seeing what kind of lines she can make. These range in price a LOT - but they can be less than $10 and can be found at a really good fine art supply store. BTW, they take a few days of use to loosen up so that you start to get that brush look from them (instead of a basic marker look... the first time I bought one I spent the first few times using it really annoyed that I had just shelled out like $10 or more for something that was basically just a single black marker, but then it loosened up and became a really nice little tool).

Busygoddess
07-26-2010, 08:59 PM
We do regular Calligraphy & start the kids out with Calligraphy markers. They progress to pens when they're more competent. Any beginners calligraphy set should be fine for her. They generally start by showing exactly how to write each letter, and sometimes offer tracing practice like beginning writing programs do with regular letters.

schwartzkari
07-26-2010, 11:36 PM