PDA

View Full Version : When does everyone start?

sunshinet
08-17-2013, 12:40 AM
I'm new to this, but public and private schools start here in Florida on Monday.Some of you are year round, I realize, but when did/will the rest of you start your school?

MrsLOLcat
08-17-2013, 12:56 AM
We started five weeks ago. We do an almost-year-round sort of schedule - we have regular 1- or 2-week breaks throughout the school year but the kids still get two months of summer vacation.

MrsJadeDragon
08-17-2013, 01:37 AM
We're officially starting next Wednesday because we're homeschooling under a charter but we've been "in school" since the beginning of August.

sdvelochick
08-17-2013, 01:42 AM
We start Wednesday with a CA charter school :) my son really likes sticking with the school calendar so that he gets his correct number if days off lol. He doesn't trust me to give him days off ;)

atomicgirl
08-17-2013, 02:17 AM
We started on Tuesday, because that's when my son, who is in a half-time public school program started.

Gummers
08-17-2013, 07:16 AM
Starting gently tomorrow, with the plan not to stop until after next Ramadan. I'm going to plan this year a lot lighter than last so that we don't have to scramble to catch up when we want to take beach days and have play dates or go on vacation. I'm very excited!

hockeymom
08-17-2013, 08:16 AM
We started a couple weeks ago. Every year around the end of July/early August, DS gets twitchy to start back up.

inmom
08-17-2013, 08:59 AM
The kids start Monday with their dual credit classes (Chemistry and English comp.). At home they'll be doing math, US History, Spanish, programming (ds only), and photography (dd only). We'll add these in slowly during the next couple of weeks.

farrarwilliams
08-17-2013, 09:55 AM
I haven't decided for sure, but I'm thinking Oct. 1st right now. But we still have a few more days of last year, so obviously our schedule is kooky.

Riceball_Mommy
08-17-2013, 10:09 AM