PDA

View Full Version : Middle-of-the-day activities?

enchantedlife
07-18-2013, 09:25 AM
My question is a little different from what I've seen posted on these forums. My son starts kindergarten in the fall and I have a daughter who'll start next year, so I plan on having her do the lessons with him if she can.

Besides being a mom, I'm also a writer. I like to have time during the week to work on my novels, and I know homeschooling will take up a lot of my time. I'd like to have my kids scheduled in some type of extracurricular activity during the week, if only for an hour two days a week, just so I can have time to catch up on some of my writing.

Does anyone have any ideas of where to look for activities in the middle of the day? I'm thinking maybe music or gymnastics or the like. The only problem is I know most places don't even start classes until later on in the day since most kids are in school. Am I out of luck?

Thanks so much in advance for any insights!

dbmamaz
07-18-2013, 09:27 AM
sometimes you can find coops or homeschool classes, but usually they either require a parent to be there, or are very short, or require a statement of faith to join, or cost a lot of money. Its worth asking around locally, but it might be easier to just hire a mothers helper

Teri
07-18-2013, 09:30 AM
Homeschooling won't take up much time for a kindergartener (we schooled about an hour a day).

Here, there are a TON of homeschool classes. My kids take ballet and piano during the day. In the past, they have had martial arts, swimming and the periodic classes at libraries and museums.
If a place doesn't list a homeschool class, ask if they would consider it. Parks and Rec departments are a great place to look. I will say that K can be a weird in between age. Sometimes, not old enough for elementary level classes, but too old for preschool classes. On the other hand, you might be able to find some 5-6 year old classes that are considered preschool, but entirely appropriate.