PDA

View Full Version : Starting Kindergarten!

JEJordan9
07-18-2010, 05:40 PM
Hello all! I'm new to homeschooling and we'll be starting with my 5 year old daughter this year! My 2 year old will probably join in as well.

We bought a classroom full of Montessori supplies earlier this year and they've been great! Right now, our whole classroom is like a Montessori setting. I want to mix in other things to see what works for us and what doesn't.

So far my plans are to:

-register my daughter under a private umbrella school soon (unschooler)
-join several co-ops
-work on some lesson plans so my daughter can work at home the days we don't do co-ops
-we also joined time4learning.com so she'll be able to do some computer work
-we'll also be doing gymastics and dance for some P.E. time

I am so new at all this (You can tell, right? :o ) If any of you think my schedule looks too busy and we are doing too much to start with, please let me know!

StartingOver
07-19-2010, 09:34 AM
Welcome to the group ! I think you have set a wonderful plan. Whether you are doing to much or not will be determined by your daughter. ;-) She will let you know in no time, just be flexible and meet her where she is.

schwartzkari
07-19-2010, 09:44 AM
Your plan looks great to me! When I started Kindergarten with my daughter, we did about 30 minutes a day and she quickly let me know that she wanted more, lol. She's in 1st grade now and has worked her way up to about 3 hours of studying/hands on work, plus she does dance class. Dance class is excellent for PE!

I agree with Jana, be flexible!

:)

Shoe
07-19-2010, 12:35 PM
Welcome to the site! I'm still new to homeschooling too, though my kids are much older.

pandahoneybee
07-19-2010, 01:19 PM