PDA

View Full Version : Easy Way to Connect Reading & Writing

mseward
06-03-2012, 04:48 PM
Hey everyone! Summer vacation is underway (for most of us) and we have also started our summer reading program! As a former teacher, I will admit that one of my 'challenges' in teaching writing was getting kids to understand the following:

* A complete paragraph contains 5-7 sentences, despite what your other teachers told you (some were told 3-5 at high school level...NO!)
* A summary does not mean you are to give every detail of what you read!
* There are no right or wrong answers when reflecting on what you read

Since I have two girls (rising 3rd and 6th graders) who I will homeschool next year, I thought that we should continue with reading and writing throughout the summer. I know that my oldest daughter struggled with expanding her descriptive language when writing in school so keeping at it (without testing pressure) should show some results!

I am including a link (http://www.moniselseward.com/creatively-connecting-curriculum-hands-on-lesson-companion-activities/) to a neat, short, and easy activity I created that I believe will keep them interested in reading without adding a lot of pressure to the writing component (the file size exceeded the allowed size for the forum). It's called 'Points to Paragraph' and the sheet can either be glued onto the pages of a composition book or used on the computer. If you are working on handwriting, it would probably be best to use the hard copy. I included 5 bullet points where your child can jot down 5 points (not complete sentences) while reading. My girls will read for at least 30 minutes/day during the summer. Then they can use those 5 points to write a descriptive paragraph summarizing what they read.

If you decide to try it please let me know whether it worked for your child !

Thanks,

Monise

mommyshanti
06-28-2012, 06:01 PM
lol I thouhgt it was 3-5 also:)

AmyButler
06-28-2012, 06:16 PM