PDA

View Full Version : Homeschooling to Keep Out of "The System?"

sarahjoy
12-02-2010, 08:42 PM
Hi,
I've been lurking here for a few weeks, and I wanted to get some of your opinions. My son is five and will start kindergarten next year. Right now we have him in a private preschool/elementary school and we could either keep him in that school next year or put him in public school. The private school is pretty good but expensive and our local public school is rated as the top in the state according to the testing. Testing aside, everyone I know whose children go there seems to like it and say it's a good school.

Really, I think my son would get a pretty good education at either of these schools. However, the closer it gets to making some sort of decision the more I want to keep him with me and homeschool...at least for a year or two. I am a former public school teacher and now part time college instructor. I've started him on a sort of afterschooling program to see if I can do it and we like it, and so far we both seem to be doing well. My son is learning much more than he has been at school, and I find it fun to teach him.

My real issue seems to be that I feel like once he starts going to serious SCHOOL we will be at the mercy of this system that dictates what and we we do things as a family. I really hate the idea. I never wanted to have the typical boxed in life that I see many people have, and that we have fallen into as well since having a child. But I don't know if that's a good enough reason not to put my son in school. That's my issue. Not his. He says he wants to stay home with me, and I believe it. But he's also perfectly happy in his school and does fine. He is an only child and art, gym, swimming classes aside...I think it's hard to form serious friendships with kids you only see once a week.