PDA

View Full Version : I hate Language Arts...help!

summer94
11-16-2013, 08:30 PM
I hate it. I hated it when I was in school, I hate it now, my kids, especially my 12 year old, hates it.

Is there such a thing as an online LA course for elementary/middle school age kids that is fun and more "real life" type learning (don't know if that's the right term I'm looking for), instead of "this is a verb, now, name several other verbs, this is a preposition, blah blah blah". I guess I'm looking for something more organic in nature...and fun, did I say that already?

I just hate the drills, they hate the drills, my 12 yr old doesn't learn by drills.

Fun, or at least not boring and dry...anything?

Also, is it TOTALLY necessary for my kiddo to read all these "suggested" readings for their grades? They don't like most of the books, so why bother. Can't they just read for fun???

Take2
11-16-2013, 09:05 PM
I'm no expert, but we are using Moving Beyond the Page (full curriculum) and all of us seem to enjoy the LA. It isn't boring, it ties into the story, etc. Both kids had a good foundation of grammar, so that helps, I am sure.

good luck

Teri
11-16-2013, 10:06 PM
We have never drilled for LA. We do it more organically, while they are writing papers. But, we do use MBTP. LOL

farrarwilliams
11-16-2013, 10:29 PM
What are you even drilling for language arts? Is it grammar facts or something? Vocabulary? Don't. Just... don't.

There's a lot of research to show that grammar knowledge doesn't equal good writing. I think that having a good understanding of grammar can help a child enrich their writing so it's something I think is good in an ideal world, but if it's soul-crushing, then stop. Let it be instead through evaluating the work, like Teri said. Do a mini-lesson on comma usage when it gets bad, that kind of thing.